The House and Senate Impact Aid Coalitions exist to strengthen the Impact Aid program, as well as to educate Members of Congress on the program’s merits. The Impact Aid Coalitions are bipartisan, serving as clearinghouses for information concerning the Impact Aid program and to alert Members when issues affecting the program are pending before Congress. They also work closely with the Executive Branch and Congressional leadership to ensure concerns are heard and considered as policy decisions are made.


In 1995, Representatives Chet Edwards (D-TX) and Jim Saxton (R-NJ) officially created the House Impact Aid Coalition. It began with approximately 12 Members of Congress. That number quickly increased and for the 115th Congress stands at 92 members.

In 1996, at the beginning of the 105th Congress, Senators Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), Tim Johnson (D-SD) and Patty Murray (D-WA) created the Senate Impact Aid Coalition as a partner to the House entity. It currently has 32 members.


The Impact Aid Coalitions routinely write letters of support for appropriations requests to the Labor-Health and Human Services-Education Appropriations subcommittees, as well as the Education & the Workforce and Health-Education-Labor-Pensions Committees. They also send letters of support to the House and Senate Budget Committees. In addition, Members of the Impact Aid Coalitions provide testimony before the various committees of jurisdiction.

118th Congress – Senate Coalition


  • Crapo, Michael (R-ID)
  • Hirono, Mazie (D-HI)
  • Murray, Patty (D-WA)
  • Thune, John (R-SD)

General Membership

  • Barrasso, John (R-WY)
  • Bennet, Michael (D-CO)
  • Brown, Sherrod (D-OH)
  • Cantwell, Maria (D-WA)
  • Cornyn, John (R-TX)
  • Cramer, Kevin (R-ND)
  • Daines, Steve (R-MT)
  • Duckworth, Tammy (D-IL)
  • Durbin, Richard (D-IL)
  • Fischer, Deb (R-NE)
  • Gillibrand, Kirsten (D-NY)
  • Hoeven, John (R-ND)
  • Kaine, Tim (D-VA)
  • Kelly, Mark (D-AZ)
  • Klobuchar, Amy (D-MN)
  • Lankford, James (R-OK)
  • Lummis, Cynthia (R-WY)
  • McConnell, Mitch (R-KY)
  • Menendez, Robert (D-NJ)
  • Mullin, Markwayne (R-OK)
  • Murkowski, Lisa (R-AK)
  • Peters, Gary (D-MI)
  • Reed, Jack (D-RI)
  • Risch, James (R-ID)
  • Rounds, Mike (R-SD)
  • Schatz, Brian (D-HI)
  • Schumer, Charles (D-NY)
  • Sinema, Kyrsten (D-AZ)
  • Smith, Tina (D-MN)
  • Stabenow, Debbie (D-MI)
  • Tester, Jon (D-MT)
  • Whitehouse, Sheldon (D-RI)


118th Congress – House Coalition


  • Courtney, Joseph (D-CT)
  • Newhouse, Dan (R-WA)

Steering Committee

  • Pallone, Frank (D-NJ)
  • Scott, Bobby (D-VA)
  • Smith, Chris (R-NJ)

General Membership

  • Amodei, Mark (R-NV)
  • Armstrong, Kelly (R-ND)
  • Bacon, Don (R-NE)
  • Bishop, Sanford (D-GA)
  • Bost, Mike (R-IL)
  • Brownley, Julia (D-CA)
  • Bucshon, Larry (R-IN)
  • Burgess, Michael (R-TX)
  • Calvert, Ken (R-CA)
  • Carson, André (D-IN)
  • Carter, Buddy (R-GA)
  • Carter, John (R-TX)
  • Castro, Joaquin (D-TX)
  • Cicilline, David (D-RI)
  • Clyburn, James (D-SC)
  • Cole, Tom (R-OK)
  • Connolly, Gerald (D-VA)
  • Cuellar, Henry (D-TX)
  • Davis, Danny (D-IL)
  • DelBene, Suzan (D-WA)
  • Doggett, Lloyd (D-TX)
  • Fischbach, Michelle (R-MN)
  • Foster, Bill (D-IL)
  • Garamendi, John (D-CA)
  • Gonzales, Tony (R-TX)
  • Gosar, Paul (R-AZ)
  • Gottheimer, Josh (D-NJ)
  • Granger, Kay (R-TX)
  • Grijalva, Raúl (D-AZ)
  • Guthrie, Brett (R-KY)
  • Guest, Michael (R-MS)
  • Hoyer, Steny (D-MD)
  • Huffman, Jared (D-CA)
  • Johnson, Dusty (R-SD)
  • Kilmer, Derek (D-WA)
  • Kim, Andy (D-NJ)
  • Lamborn, Doug (R-CO)
  • Larsen, Rick (D-WA)
  • Lee, Barbara (D-CA)
  • Lowenthal, Alan (D-CA)
  • Lucas, Frank (R-OK)
  • McMorris Rodgers, Cathy (R-WA)
  • Norcross, Donald (D-NJ)
  • Norton, Eleanor (D-DC)
  • Obernolte, Jay (R-CA)
  • Payne Jr., Donald (D-NJ)
  • Pascrell, William (D-NJ)
  • Peters, Scott (D-CA)
  • Rogers, Michael (R-AL)
  • Ryan, Pat (D-NY)
  • Sarbanes, John (D-MD)
  • Schneider, Brad (D-IL)
  • Schrier, Kim (D-WA)
  • Simpson, Mike (R-ID)
  • Smith, Adam (D-WA)
  • Smith, Jason (R-MO)
  • Steel, Michelle (R-CA)
  • Stefanik, Elise (R-NY)
  • Tenney, Claudia (R-NY)
  • Thompson, Mike (D-CA)
  • Turner, Mike (R-OH)
  • Williams, Roger (R-TX)
  • Wittman, Robert (R-VA)